IntelliStick’s Weblog
Oil Condition Monitoring

Is that a typo?

Our faithful blog readers know that IntelliStick is on the 3,000 Mile myth bandwagon. With the data we get back from our IntelliStick we can see that it isn’t necessary to change your oil every 3,000 miles. We know it, the state of California knows it, and more and more drivers are catching on, too.

But we thought it was a Monday morning typo when we saw a 30,000 mile oil change headline. 30,000? Even to us, that seems a little out in left field. You’d better be sure that if we put one of those filters in our car and attempted a 30,000 mile oil change that we’d have our IntelliStick telling us what was really going on with our oil. Actually, that might be an interesting experiment for the IntelliStick engineers …

One Response to “Is that a typo?”

  1. I’m planning on getting an Intellistick very soon. I have a Ford 6.0 Powerstroke and I run synthetic oil. I haven’t changed in close to 6 months (but only 3000 miles – I don’t drive much). I was assured the oil was good for 1 year or 10,000 miles, but I don’t have that much faith in the oil. Besides, engines are expensive. I’m hoping to purchase the Intellistick prior to my next oil change so I can track the oils life. Right now I’m running Mobile 1 CJ-4, but I’m going to switch to AMSOIL CJ-4 later this year. I’m curious to see what results others are getting. 🙂

    Personally, I’ll be happy if I can change once a year or even twice a year. The cost is the same or a little more, but it’s got to be better for the environment. Although I recycle, 15 quarts every 3 months is alot of oil.


Leave a Reply

